常見問題

我們通過電子郵件和論壇收集到很多問題。我們選擇了這些問題中進行統一解答,並在網站中專門添加這個問與答,希望這樣可以節省你一些時間。

目錄

問題

問:有沒有遊戲的源代碼(TSK或TPR)?
不,我們沒有遊戲源代碼,而且遊戲源代碼從未開放。我們是從頭開始重寫整個遊戲引擎。

問:為什麼刪除攻城武器製造鋪的彈射器和巨弩?
原因有二:
1。攻城器械過於“神奇”,以至於幾乎沒有人會去使用它們。
2。我們不認為它是平衡的。對各種單位基本都是“一擊必殺”,如果你擁有很多的話,將會是“無敵”的。
在今後的版本中後,我們可能會考慮將它們加入到遊戲中,當然,我們需要有人對其進行美化工作以及調整它們的遊戲平衡性。

問:為什麼刪除市政中心?
我們認為這是“作弊”,同時我們也認為它不適合現有的遊戲風格。在遊戲中,你必須建設一個完善的經濟環境以製作各種物品,(例如,製作皮革鎧甲需要四個不同的步驟)而市政廳則允許你只有一個資源和少數建築物就製造一隻龐大的軍隊。因此我們認為它並不符合現有的遊戲風格。
當然,在未來的版本中,我們可能會考慮將其重新設計並加入遊戲。


問:為什麼不讓魚群無限補充?
因為魚群是消耗資源的。 遊戲中有4種類型的食物,在創造速度和食物價值方面各不相同。 葡萄酒價格便宜,生產速度快,麵包需要更多的時間,但更多的食物價值,香腸是最慢的做最好吃(加上生產軍用皮)。 魚群被添加作為一種資源,快速得到,但耗盡與所有其他,這是它的弱點。 所以有這些 - 球員有四個食物戰略和他們的組合之間有意義的選擇。 否則,如果我們做魚補充,它將被濫用或與麵包或葡萄酒相同。 我們可以考慮的一個選項是使它補充真正的慢,所以它仍然有初始的優勢,但後來幾乎沒有用(例如在5分鐘一條魚)。

問:為什麼沒有按鈕可以自殺我單位的人?
我們認為這不是在遊戲中的風格。一個國王是不會隨機殺人的。在遊戲中是一個“和諧”的遊戲,沒有流血或者屠戮,因此我們認為給玩家機會殺掉任何不需要/不喜歡的單位是不合適的。早期的版本中有一個刪除的按鈕是為了遊戲測試而設置的。目前我們正在考慮允許玩家將不需要的單位送回“學校”,他們將會消失,但是不退回金幣。(因為對單位進行管理一定是有一定的回報的,例如退回這些不必要的單位將會節省食物的消耗)

問:什麼是交易中心?(在標題中顯示的徽標右側建築)
這是一個我們新加入到遊戲中的建築。這個建築物的設計素材來自KAM TSK的開發者版本。顯然,KAM的原始創作者計劃有一個市場,但它在遊戲的開發過程中可能由於某些原因刪除了。我們已經重新將它開發出來,它允許你用很高的匯率,使用一種資源兌換另一種資源。目前它仍然是需要測試平衡問題的,並在今後的版本中有可能進行調整。它在早期的戰役任務中將被禁用。對於那些不喜歡變化的人,我們也有一個選項來關閉它。(當然對於其他我們新加入的功能也可以禁用)

問:我如何從騎士帝國 Steam 版上的執行重製版本?
你需要啟動騎士帝國的steam版本一次在安裝重製版之前,否則重製版軟體將無法自動偵測安裝。 此外,剛剛從我們的下載頁面下載完整的安裝程序並運行它。如果你想擁有,而玩的蒸汽覆蓋,你可以通過點擊添加鑑翻拍的蒸汽庫 遊戲 - 與GT;添加非汽遊戲到我的圖書館 在蒸汽主菜單。

問:你們會開發一個註冊系統嗎?這樣可以在多人遊戲中記錄勝利、失敗、離開遊戲等數據?
也許最終,但它會是複雜的實施,尤其是試圖使其固定。

問:為什麼電腦AI不會建立一個完整的村莊,並在多人遊戲中的開始攻擊玩家?
我們還沒有完成,使電腦AI建造一個完整的村莊和攻擊的代碼,所以目前電腦AI的行為是有限的。 我們將這個加到翻拍,但它是複雜的,我們希望它運行良好。 (比原錦人工智能這是不是很好好)但是,如果你想在多人對抗電腦AI發揮,你可以發揮合作社的任務,其中的電腦AI已經有一個完整的村莊被腳本攻擊。

問:請問你們會把我製作的地圖放在地圖包中嗎?
會的,如果它的確做的很好,而且我們喜歡它。但是要注意一些常見的錯誤,包括:
- 在不同的方向流動的水(使用克羅姆的編輯器中的魔水功能)
- 沒有足夠的地圖對象,如岩石,蘑菇等。
- 瓦未正確連接,因此具有正方形的邊。
- 整個地圖是太平坦。
- 資源/位置不均衡以及(在多人遊戲地圖)
如果你認為你製作了一個非常好的地圖,請發送給我們,我們將決定是否把它列入地圖庫中。將你的地圖張貼在論壇上(請參考鏈接頁面),是一個獲得用戶反饋的好方法。

問:你們會在遊戲中加入戰爭迷霧嗎?
在以後的版本中我們有可能會進行嘗試。要知道,戰爭迷霧在遊戲中可能不是很好用,因為如果你只能看到你的對手在地圖的某個地點,但是並不清楚ta的兵種配置,這將很難發起大規模的作戰。也正是因為這個原因,我們今後可能會考慮在遊戲中提高高地勢的視野半徑。

問:你們是否會考慮添加可以建設圍牆嗎?
也許,但可以建設的圍牆並不適合目前的遊戲風格。在遊戲中,你必須努​​力地根據地形來進行保衛。但如果可以建立圍牆,這種遊戲風格向被削弱。它會使多人遊戲更容易變成僵局。這樣看起來牆壁似乎並不是遊戲中的必要元素。

問:請問你們是否會考慮在多人遊戲中限制防禦塔的數量?
如果一個玩家選擇過多的修建防禦塔,那麼他將沒有足夠的空間/資源/時間來生產武器/防具,同時其他玩家可以輕易地粉碎純防禦塔防守。防禦塔可以被民兵輕易的沖垮:每個防禦塔有5個石頭,但是有一些無法命中,這就意味著平均每個防禦塔可以殺死三個單位。因此,如果你擁有60個民兵,你可以輕易破壞20個防禦塔。通常情況下,你可以順利地抵達並摧毀他的倉庫/學校/軍營而不需要摧毀他的全部防禦塔,(要知道他是需要在不同地方設置防禦塔的),這樣來看,摧毀20個防禦塔已經足夠讓你的對手繳械投降。要知道,生產60個民兵並不需要很長時間,當然你需要有一個穩定的木材生產。另外,如果他有弓箭手,你會需要額外的民兵,因為有些人會死於弓箭手的攻擊,但如果你在民兵部隊後面部署了其他軍隊,一旦防禦塔被摧毀,這將不是是一個問題。如果你發現你的對手正在使用防禦塔戰術,而你正在因此感到困擾,那麼你可能正在使用錯誤的戰術。民兵強推的戰術要比試圖用弓箭手拆除所有防禦塔要有效的多。

問:我有個好點子是否可以添加到遊戲中嗎?
請把你的想法發佈在論壇上。如果我們喜歡此點子,我們將討論此點子。但除非它非常符合遊戲風格,否則我們不會增加新的東西。此外,相比修正游戲的錯誤,增加新的功能對我們來說優先級較低。

FAQ

This page was added because we get a lot of emails and post on the forum asking the same things over and over again. We hope it saves you some time.

Table of contents

Questions

Q: Do you have the source code to KaM TSK or TPR?
No we don’t, the original source code has never been released. We have rewritten the entire game engine from scratch.

Q: Why did you remove the siege workshop, catapult and balista?
Two reasons:
1. Siege equipment “magically” drives with nobody pushing or pulling it. In KaM every tiny detail is visible, and yet these machines drive themselves.
2. We don’t think it’s balanced. Balista are basically a one-shot-kill ranged unit, so if you get a lot of them they are overpowered.
Later in development we might consider adding them back into the game with somebody pushing them (of course we’d need someone to make the sprites) and some rebalancing.

Q: Why did you remove the town hall?
We think it is “cheating” and doesn’t fit the game style. In KaM you have to make a complex economy to produce anything. (e.g. there are 4 processing steps to make leather armour) The town hall allows you to make an army with only one resource and a handful of buildings. We don’t think that fits into the KaM style.
Later in development we might consider adding it back into the game redesigned.


Q: Why don’t you make fish self-replenish?
Because fish is depleting resource by intent. KaM has 4 types of food, each different from the other in terms of creation speed and food value. Wine is cheap and quick to produce, Bread takes more time but comes in more food value, Sausages are slowest to make and best to eat (plus produce skins for military). Fish was added as a resource that is quick to get but is depleting unlike all others, that is its weakness. So having those – player has meaningful choice between four food strategies and their combinations. Otherwise, if we make fish replenishing it would become either abused or identical to bread or wine. One of the options we might consider, is to make it replenish real slow, so it still has initial advantage, but later becomes almost useless (e.g. one fish in 5 minutes).

Q: Why isn’t there a button to kill your people?
We don’t think it’s realistic or fitting in a game like KaM. A king does not go about randomly killing people. KaM is a “nice” game with no blood or gore, and we don’t think it would fit if you can just kill anybody you like. Early releases had a kill button for debugging/testing purposes which has since been removed. We are considering allowing unnecessary units to be sent back to the school and disappear, without refunding gold. (because there should be some reward for managing your units well and not needing to “untrain” any units to save food or something)

Q: What is the marketplace? (building shown to the right of the logo in in the header)
It’s a new building we added to the game. The main house sprites come from the KaM TSK Alpha (development) version, and were leaked to us. Apparently the creators of KaM planned to have a marketplace, but it was removed during development for one reason or another. We have reimplemented it. It allows you to trade one resource for another, at high exchange rates. It is still being tested for balance issues and might be tweaked later. It will be disabled in the early campaign missions and for those of you who don’t like change, we will have an option to play the game without it. (as well as any other new features we add)

Q: How do I install KaM Remake if I have the Steam version of KaM?
You need to launch Knights and Merchants from Steam at least once before you run the KaM Remake installer, otherwise the installer will not detect it. Apart from that, just download the full installer from our downloads page and run it. If you want to have the Steam overlay while playing, you can add KaM Remake to your Steam library by clicking Games -> Add a Non-Steam Game to My Library on the Steam main menu.

Q: Will you implement a player accounts system for multiplayer which can record statistics like wins, losses, games left, etc.?
Maybe eventually, but it will be complicated to implement, especially trying to make it secure. It will be extremely difficult to record statistics in a way that can’t be faked or cheated. We would need to force players to use only our own secure servers and change our multiplayer code so the server can record the statistics (which is currently not possible). In short it would require a large amount of time, cost and continued maintenance for only a small gain.

Q: Why doesn’t the AI build a full village and attack in multiplayer?
We haven’t completed the code to make the AI build a complete village and attack, so currently their behavior is limited. We will add this to the Remake but it is complicated, and we want it to work well. (better than the original KaM AI which wasn’t very good) However, if you want to play against the AI in multiplayer you can play the co-operative missions, where the AI already has a complete village and is scripted to attack.

Q: Will you include my map in the Remake?
Yes, if it is good quality and we like it. Common mistakes include:
– Water flowing in different directions (use the magic water feature in Krom’s editor)
– Not enough map objects like rocks, mushrooms, etc.
– Tiles not connecting properly, and so having square edges.
– Entire map is too flat.
– Resources/positions are not balanced well (for multiplayer maps)
If you think you’ve made a map that is good quality, send it to us and we’ll decide whether to include it. Posting your map on the forum (check the Links section) is a good way to get feedback on it.

Q: Will you add fog of war to the game?
Later in development we will try it. It might not work very well in KaM, because it wouldn’t be possible to have those classic large open battles if you can only see your opponent when they are right on top of you. We’d probably use quite a high view radius through the fog because of this.

Q: Will you add constructable walls to the game?
Maybe, but constructable walls don’t really fit into the game style. In KaM you must work with the terrain and find suitable places to the defend. If you can build walls that won’t be necessary. And it will make multiplayer matches turn into stalemates more often. Walls don’t seem like a necessary addition to the game.

Q: Will you implement a tower limit in multiplayer to stop tower spam?
No. If a player chooses to spam towers, then he won’t have enough space/resources/time for weapons production, and the other players should be able to crush him easily. Towers can easily be disarmed by militia rushing them: Each tower holds 5 stones, but a few of them miss, meaning each tower kills about 3 units on average. So if you have 60 militia you can disarm 20 towers. Usually you can reach the center of the enemy’s village and destroy his storehouse/schools/barracks without encountering all of their towers, (there are multiple places to defend) so disarming 20 is more than enough. 60 militia does not take long to produce when you have a steady wood production. Of course if he has bowmen you will need extra militia because some will die from arrows, but if you bring other troops behind the militia once the towers are disarmed this shouldn’t be a problem. If you find tower spam is troubling you, you are probably using the wrong tactics against it. Militia rushes work much better than trying to destroy each tower with bowmen.

Q: I have an idea for something you can add!
Write about it on the forum. If we like it we’ll discuss it. But we won’t add new things unless they fit into the game. Also, adding new features is a lower priority than fixing bugs and implementing missing features from KaM.